Old Dominion University
A to Z Index   |   Directories

College of Sciences

Computer Science


Computer Science Department Events

There will be a Colloquium on Friday, April 26th at 10:30 AM by Tianming Liu.



TIME: 10:30 (DONUTS) 10:40 (TALK)

Title: Computational Representation of Brain Architectures

Speaker: Tianming Liu, University of Georgia.

Abstract: Understanding and mapping the organizational architectures of the brain has been of keen interest for centuries. With the advancements of modern imaging techniques and computational sciences, the pace of scientific discoveries of principles underlying the evolution, development, and organization of brain architectures has been accelerated. This talk will present our recent discoveries of general principles of structural, connectional and functional brain architectures by using multi-scale multimodal neuroimaging data as the information source and by designing novel computational methods. Applications of these discovered principles in neuroscience, medicine and computer science will be showcased and discussed.

Biography: Dr. Tianming Liu is an Assistant Professor (Associate Professor with Tenure effective August, 2013) of Computer Science at The University of Georgia. Dr. Liu is also affiliated faculty with the UGA Bioimaging Research Center (BIRC), the UGA Biomedical and Health Sciences Institute (BHSI), the UGA Institute of Bioinformatics (IOB), and the UGA College of Engineering. Before he moved to UGA, Dr. Liu was a faculty member of Weill Medical College of Cornell University (Assistant Professor, 2007-2008) and Harvard Medical School (Instructor, 2005-2007). Dr. Liu was a postdoc in neuroimaging in the University of Pennsylvania (2002-2004) and Harvard Medical School (2004-2005). Dr. Liu received his PhD in computer science from Shanghai Jiaotong University. Dr. Liu's research focuses on biomedical image analysis and has published over 120 peer-reviewed papers in this area. He is the recipient of the Microsoft Fellowship Award (2000-2002), the NIH K01 Career Award (2007-2012) and the NSF CAREER Award (2012-2017).