From CS 312 Fall 2008

CS312-F08: Announcements


Tuesday/Thursday 1:30-2:45pm, Kaufman 0100, Fall 2008


Mon, Dec 1 @ 4:44pm - Project 5 Hint
For Map 1 (where you load addresses from an XML file and place them on the map), there's a bit of a trick in getting the information in the marker's info window to be displayed correctly when you click on the marker.

Instead of using the getLatLng() function for the Geocoder, you should use the getLocations() function. Google returns more information about the location with this function than with getLatLng().

Reference: http://code.google.com/apis/maps/documentation/services.html#Geocoding_Structured

Example: http://code.google.com/apis/maps/documentation/examples/geocoding-extraction.html

Use 'view source' to see the code. Note especially the addAddressToMap function, but make sure that you use bindInfoWindowHtml() instead of openInfoWindowHtml().

This issue doesn't come up in Map 2 because you aren't trying to display lots of addresses back-to-back (there's a delay while the user types in a new address).

Sat, Nov 29 @ 1:42pm - Final Exam Study Guide
The Final Exam study guide has been posted (under Dec 4 lecture).

Sun, Oct 12 @ 5:22pm - Midterm Exam Grades Posted
Grades are now posted Blackboard.

Mon, Sep 29 @ 10:38am - Midterm Study Guide
If you printed a copy of the midterm study guide this weekend (before Mon morning @ 10:38am), I've just added a section on Securing the Web, just under the HTTP section.

Fri, Sep 26 @ 5:38pm - Project 2
Remember that Project 2 was assigned on Thursday and is due Tuesday, Sep 30.

Fri, Sep 26 @ 5:37pm - Midterm Study Guide Posted
You can find the midterm study guide on the schedule under reading due Oct 2.

Sun, Sep 21 @ 3:15pm - Homework 1 Grades Posted
Grades have posted on Blackboard for Homework 1. I will hand back the assignments and we will discuss the solutions in class on Tuesday.

Thu, Sep 18 @ 7:40pm - Homework 2, Problem 2
You do not need to use dig to complete this problem. Instead, use the same method that we discussed in class (see the www.cnn.com and www2.cnn.com examples).

Thu, Sep 18 @ 3:00pm - Lecture Notes for Today
The link for today's lecture notes should be working now for everyone.

Thu, Sep 11 @ 12:32pm - Homework 2
Homework 2 is assigned today (linked on the course schedule) and is due Tues, Sep 23.

Wed, Sep 10 @ 2:54pm - Out of Town Sep 15-17
I will be out-of-town from Sep 15-17, so no class on Tues, Sep 16 and no office hours on Mon, Sep 15 or Wed, Sep 17.

Wed, Sep 10 @ 11:05am - Project 1 Grades Posted

Wed, Sep 03 @ 2:20pm - Homework 1 Change
Omit question 8 from your Homework 1.

Tue, Sep 02 @ 8:25pm - Accessing CS Unix from Home

Tue, Sep 02 @ 8:14pm - Project 1 FAQ

Fri, Aug 29 @ 8:11am - Project 1 Submission Page
The Project 1 submission page? is now working. Those of you who have already submitted your URL by email don't need to do anything. Everyone else, please use the submission page to submit your assignment.

Thurs, Aug 28 @ 8:34pm - Project 1

Thurs, Aug 28 @ 4:40pm - CS Systems Info
I've posted the following under Useful Links:

Mon, Jul 14 @ 11:30am - Welcome!
Welcome to the CS 312 webpage. Please look around and email me if you have any questions.

Retrieved from http://www.cs.odu.edu/~mweigle/CS312-F08/CS312-F08
Page last modified on January 13, 2009, at 05:11 PM