The 2008 Computational Structural Bioinformatics Workshop



November 3-5, 2008, Philadelphia, PA

http://www.cs.nmsu.edu/~xqin/bioworkshop/2008/Bioworkshop.html



The Program

Nov. 3 10:00-10:15 am Coffee break

Nov. 3 10:15-12 Session I (Columbus Ballroom A)

Welcome

"A Statistical Model to Correct Systematic Bias Introduced by Algorithmic Thresholds in Protein Structural Comparison Algorithms"

Viacheslav Y. Fofanov, Brian Y. Chen, Drew H. Bryant, Mark Moll, Olivier Lichtarge, Lydia Kavraki, and Marek Kimmel

"An Integrated Database for Complex Protein Structure Modeling"

Qiang Wang and Roland L. Dunbrack, Jr.

"Analyzing Dynamical Simulations of Intrinsically Disordered Proteins Using Spectral Clustering"
Joshua L. Phillips and Michael E. Colvin

"Integrated Software Environment for Protein Structure Refinement"

Rahul Ravindrudu, Di Wu, Ajith Guaratne, Yaping Feng, and Zhijun Wu

"Protein Supporting Structure Discovery by Rigid Structure Identification via One-dimensional Structural Signature"

Yu-Feng Huang, Chia-Jui Yang, Yi-Wei Yang, Chun-Chin Huang, and Chien-Kang Huang

12:00- 1:30pm Conference lunch break

6:30 – 8:30 Industry poster and conference keynote – posters from this workshop included (Columbus Ballroom ABC)

"Structure prediction for the helix skeletons from a low resolution protein density map" Weitao Sun, Kamal Al Nasr, and Jing He

"Reduction of the false positive detection of α -helices from low resolution protein density maps" Erick Rosas, and Jing He

"Comparison of two approaches in parallel computation of the protein secondary structure topologies" Saeed Al Haj, Weitao Sun, and Jing He

Nov. 4 10:25 - 10:40 am Coffee break

Nov. 4 10:40 – 11:50 Session II

(Columbus Ballroom C)

Keynote: Guanghui Hu, GSK Bioinformatics Division

"The disease-drug network and its applications in drug discovery"

"Native protein secondary structure assignment has the near minimum contact energy among all possible assignments"

Weitao Sun and Jing He

Closing Remarks

PROGRAM CHAIRS

Jing He, New Mexico State University Zhijun Wu, Iowa State University

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Jin Chen, Stanford University

David Hsu, National University of Singapore

Haiguan Li, Noble Foundation, USA

Jinyan Li, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Enrico Pontelli, New Mexico State University

Guang Song, Iowa State University

Joe Song, New Mexico State University

Weitao Sun, Tsinghua University

Michela Taufer, University of Delaware

Changhui Yan, Utah State University

STEERING COMMITTEE

Lydia Kavraki, Rice University

Desh Ranjan, New Mexico State University

Vasant Honavar, Iowa State University

Yaoqi Zhou, Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ. Indianapolis